Ohio is a state in the Midwestern United States. It is bordered by Lake Erie to the north, Pennsylvania to the east, West Virginia to the southeast, Kentucky to the southwest, Indiana to the west, and Michigan to the northwest. The state has many major cities and regional hubs, including Cleveland in the northeast, Columbus in the center, and Cincinnati in the south. The Appalachian Mountains run through the south of the state, while Lake Erie lies in its northwest portion.